Sacred Heart Congregation

The Congregation was founded on 1January 1911 by Venerable Fr. Mathew Kadalikkattil. The devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus was spreading fast throughout Kerala at that time. Fr. Mathew Kadalikkattil, a young diocesan priest, was one among the ardent devotees of the Sacred Heart and was seeking means to propagate this devotion for which he offered himself fully. His love for the Sacred Heart of Jesus urged him to do something to relieve the pain and suffering of humanity.On 24 January 1931 Mar James Kalassery the Bishop of Changanacherry was pleased to grant the sisters their original identity as 'Sisters of the Sacred Heart'. On 23 May 1935 Pope Pius XI during an audience granted to Bishop James Kalassery, authorized him to give the final ecclesiastical approval of the Congregation. The special charism of our Founder Father was a great zeal to glorify the Sacred Heart of Jesus and an insatiable thirst to transmit the compassionate love of that Heart. Our apostolate covers pastoral work, evangelization, heath care services, care of the destitute, orphans, care of the differentially abled, the aged and disabled, education, social welfare activities and communication media. We run institutions like homes for the aged, for the abandoned children, homes and training centers for the physically handicapped, mentally challenged and insane, hospitals, palliative care units, rehabilitation centers for the mentally ill and other humanitarian activities. We also enthusiastically participate in all sorts of Parish works especially in catechizing the children and liturgical training. In all the fields of work we try to uphold our special charism of the overflowing compassionate love of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.In the year 1974 Sisters from Pala started mission in the diocese of Jagdalpur according to the invitation of the Bishop Mar Paulinose Jeerakathil CMI and now it has developed into 4 stations. On 8 September 1998 Christu Jyoti Region was declared asVice-Province and it became a Province on 8th September 2008.